Invite a User | Fountain Help Center

Invite a User

Invite new users to Fountain, configure roles and two-factor authentication, and manage opening access restrictions.

Updated this week

Main Content

Administrators or any user with the permission Manager users has the ability to invite users to Fountain. To invite a user you will use Fountain's Company Settings screen.

Fountain One Accounts Should Use Platform Documentation
If your account is on Fountain One (Unified Auth), inviting and managing users is documented in Platform. See the following resources:

Important Note:
Any user invited to Fountain will need to have a role applied to their account. Roles are created based on a group of user permissions applied to the role.

Steps to Invite a User

  1. Navigate to Company Settings and click Users in the left menu bar.

  2. Click Invite User.

  3. Fill out the new user details and select a role based on the permissions the new user should have. You can also choose to assign Custom Permissions. To learn more about user permissions, visit the User Permissions article.

  4. If the user account should use two-factor authentication, click the Require two-factor authentication checkbox. This will require the user to set up a second instance to authenticate when logging in.

  5. Click Invite.

  6. On the next screen, you can choose to restrict the user's private Opening or private stage access. To update the Private Opening access, check or uncheck the boxes to the left of the Location name or Opening's name. You can also choose to give access to all private Openings by checking the box to the left of Access All.

  7. To restrict stages that are visible to the user within a private Opening, check the box by the Opening's name, and then uncheck the stage boxes that you do not want visible to the user. Click Save to finish.

Important Notes:

Location Group, Location, and Opening Owners

When Location Groups, locations, or Openings are created in Fountain Hire, the user will select an owner for these items as part of the creation process.

It is important to note that Location Group, location, or Opening owners will supersede settings on the Opening Access page. This user will automatically have access to Openings that fall under this ownership and the option to deselect access will be grayed out.

Additionally, there is a hierarchy of Location Group, location, and Opening ownership:

When creating new positions in Fountain, you will not select an owner.