# User Groups

Updated over 2 weeks ago

Fountain’s User Group functionality allows groups of users to share access to specific groups of Openings and stages. This creates more streamlined user management for account Administrators and better load time and user performance within Fountain for accounts that have hundreds of Openings.

**Real customer example:** A customer has 500 users that all need access to all Openings in the state of California (1000+ Openings!). Without User Groups, the account Administrators would need to assign the 1000+ Openings to each of the 500 users individually. With User Groups, they can create just one User Group called “California Openings” and assign it to the 500 users. This drastically reduces user setup time!

# Create User Groups

Once User Groups are enabled in your account, follow the steps below to create a new User Group:

1. Click your **initials icon** in the top right corner of any Fountain page. Then click **Company Settings** in the dropdown.
2. Under General Settings in the left sidebar, click **User Groups**.

3. Click **Create User Group**.

4. Type a **name** for the User Group.
5. Click **Access Type** and choose between either **Location** or **Location Group**. Learn more about Locations and Location Groups by reviewing [this Help Center article](https://intercom.help/Fountain_Hire/en/articles/9899517-using-locations-and-location-groups).
6. Select the **Location(s)** or **Location Group(s)** in the dropdown.
7. Click **Save**.

To edit an existing User Group, click the **pencil icon** to the right of the User Group’s name on the User Groups Management screen.

To delete an existing User Group, click the **trashcan icon** to the right of the User Group’s name on the User Groups Management screen.

# Assign User Groups

To assign a user to a User Group, follow the steps below:

1. In the Company Settings page, under the General section in the left sidebar, click **Users**.
2. Find the user in the list and click the **Actions button** to the left of their name. Then click **Edit** in the dropdown. Select one or more User Groups in the **User Groups** dropdown list, then click **Save**.
3. Select the User Group in the **User Groups dropdown list**. Please note, only one User Group can be assigned to a user at one time.
4. Click **Save**.

**Important Note:**

User Group access works together with a user’s direct stage or Opening-based permissions. If a user has access through a User Group and also has direct access assigned, Fountain combines those access sources rather than one overriding the other.

Users can belong to multiple User Groups at the same time. User Group membership also syncs two-way between Worker Experience and Hire.
